EverySpec Standards
Home > Library > DoD > DOD-General > DISA TAFIM VOL8


TAFIM, VOLUME 8: DOD HUMAN COMPUTER INTERFACE STYLE GUIDE, DEFENSE INFORMATION SYSTEMS AGENCY CENTER FOR STANDARDS DEPARTMENT OF DEFENSE TECHNICAL ARCHITECTURE FRAMEWORK FOR INFORMATION MANAGEMENT (TAFIM) (VER 3.0) (30 APR 1996)., The TAFIM provides a set of volumes for guiding the evolution of the DoD's technical architecture, which consists of multiple environments with each environment accommodating one or more ISAs. The TAFIM consists of multiple volumes in various states of development and maturity. The volumes that constitute Version 3.0 of the TAFIM are listed below: Volume 1: Overview; Volume 2: Technical Reference Model provides the conceptual model for information system services and their interfaces; Volume 3: Architecture Concepts and Design Guidance provides concepts and guidance needed to support the development of technical architectures in the DoD; Volume 4: DoD Standards-Based Architecture Planning Guide provides a standards-based architecture planning methodology that will help architects, technical integrators, and developers to plan and build information systems that meet mission, functional, and application area requirements. The methodology provides a translation of functional requirements to the selection of services, standards, components, configurations, their phasing, and the acquisition of products that implement them; Volume 5: Program Managers Guide for Open Systems describes how to use the TAFIM guidance in the acquisition of IT and IM products; Volume 6: DoD Goal Security Architecture (DGSA) addresses security requirements commonly found within DoD organizations’ missions or derived as a result of examining mission threats. Further, the DGSA provides a general statement about a common collection of security services and mechanisms that an information system might offer through its generic components. The DGSA also specifies principles, concepts, functions, and services that target security capabilities to guide system architects in developing their specific architectures. The generic security architecture provides an initial allocation of security services and functions and begins to define the types of components and security mechanisms that are available to implement security services. In addition, examples are provided of how to use the DGSA in developing mission-level technical architectures; Volume 7: Adopted Information Technology Standards (AITS) is the definitive set of IT standards to be used in DoD. It is intended to guide DoD acquisitions and the migration of legacy systems and, by providing definitive standards, to support broader TAFIM objectives such as interoperability, reduced life-cycle costs, and security; Volume 8: DoD Human Computer Interface (HCI) Style Guide provides a common framework for HCI design and implementation. ., The purpose of this DoD HCI Style Guide (or the Style Guide) is to provide a common framework for HCI design and implementation. Through this framework, the long-term functional goals, objectives, and requirements of the HCI will be defined and documented. Volume 8 1-2 Version 3.0 DoD Human Computer Interface Style Guide 30 April 1996 Interface implementation options will be standardized, enabling all DoD applications to appear and operate in a reasonably consistent manner.

TAFIM Rev. 3


304-1996210.29 KB DISA_TAFIM_VOL1
304-19961.42 MB DISA_TAFIM_VOL4
304-1996193.42 KB DISA_TAFIM_VOL2
304-1996293.08 KB DISA_TAFIM_VOL3
304-1996351.46 KB DISA_TAFIM_VOL5
304-1996337.97 KB DISA_TAFIM_VOL6
304-1996322.03 KB DISA_TAFIM_VOL7
304-19962.96 MB DISA_TAFIM_VOL8

Simple Search
MilSpec Search

About Us   |   Terms of Use   |   DMCA   |   Privacy   |   EverySpec LLC © 2009 - 2019   All rights reserved.